Interesting Facts about Dhaka Division Bangladesh

1 post / 0 new
Joined: 12/17/2012 - 10:15
Interesting Facts about Dhaka Division Bangladesh


Dhaka division is located at center of the country has an area of 31119 sq. km and a population of 38.678 million. It has 17 districts and 64 municipalities. Main rivers of this division are padma, jamuna, meghna, old brahmaputra, dhaleshwari, shitalakshya, brahmaputra, buriganga, arial khan. Madhupur and Bhawal Garhs are located to the northern parts of Dhaka, in Gazipur, southern part of Mymensingh and eastern part of Tangail districts; Garo hills are located in Mymensingh district. Dhaka (Capital City) stands on the bank of the river Buriganga.


Dhaka is the capital of Bangladesh. The city is known as the city of mosque, muslin and rickshaws. It has attracted travellers from far and near through ages. Dhaka as the capital of Bangladesh has grown into a busy city of about ten million people with an area of about 1353 sq. km. Having a happy blending of old and new architectural trends, Dhaka has been developing fast as a modern city and is throbbing with activities in all spheres of life. It is the center of industrial, commercial, cultural, educational and political activities for Bangladesh.

Main Tourist Spots In Dhaka Division:

Inside Dhaka City: Ahsan Manjil - Lalbag Fort - National Museum - Bangabandhu Memorial - Mukti Juddha Museum - Science Museum - Shadhinota Stambha - National Poet's Graveyard - Suhrawardy Uddyan - National Leader Mausoleum - Banga-Bhaban - Ramna Park - Parliament House - Arts & Crafts Institute - Curzon Hall - Old High Court - 1857 Memorial - National Zoo - Botanical Garden - Baldha Garden - Star Mosque - Baitul Mukarram Mosque - Mosques - Hindu Temples - Churches

Outside Dhaka City: Mosque Of Baba Adam - Sonargaon - National Martyrs Memorial - Bhawal National Park - Jamuna Bridge - Tungipara - Modhupur Picnic Spot - Susang Durgapur - Gajni Parjatan Center