Bangladesh BNP to bring changes in party charter

1 post / 0 new
Joined: 12/17/2012 - 10:15
Bangladesh BNP to bring changes in party charter
No leader can hold more than one post; national council after mid-March

The BNP last night decided to hold its sixth national council in late March.

With Khaleda Zia in the chair, the meeting at the BNP chief's Gulshan office decided to amend the party's charter, keeping the provision of “one leader, one post”, meaning no leader would be able to hold more than one post, meeting sources said.

The decisions were made at a meeting of the party's standing committee, BNP acting secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir told a press briefing in the middle of the two-hour-long meeting that started around 9:30pm.

He, however, said the date and the venue of the council would be announced later.

The party's last council was held on December 8, 2009.

According to the BNP constitution, the party's national executive committee shall be elected though a national council every three years, but the party could not hold it in the last six years.

The meeting also decided to bring another change in the party's charter incorporating a provision prohibiting MPs from holding posts in their districts, upazilas and unions, meeting sources said.


Before the council, elections to the posts of BNP chairman and senior vice-chairman would be held and a committee had already been formed to conduct the election, said a BNP standing committee member who was present at the meeting.

A council preparation committee, led by BNP standing committee member Tariqul Islam, was also formed. Besides, over seven sub-committees were formed to assist the council preparation committee.

In the briefing, Fakhrul said the meeting demanded reducing the fuel oil price following its drastic fall in the international market.

He said the BNP standing committee members strongly condemned the home ministry for its approval of filing a case against Khaleda Zia for her “political comments” over the number of Liberation War martyrs. “The move was made out of political vengeance.”

The meeting also expressed deep shock at the death of standing committee member RA Gani.

BNP standing committee members Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Moudud Ahmed, Lt Gen (retd) Mahbubur Rahman, Tariqul Islam, Jamiruddin Sircar, Gayeshwar Chandra Roy, Abdul Moyeen Khan and Nazrul Islam were present.