NBR names 141 top taxpayers in Bangladesh

1 post / 0 new
Joined: 12/17/2012 - 10:15
NBR names 141 top taxpayers in Bangladesh

The government yesterday released a list of 141 tax-card recipients for fiscal 2015-16 for their exemplary compliance.

The list has been expanded this year under the amended, comprehensive tax card policy after many taxpayers were left out of the recognition despite regularly furnishing the state coffers with sizeable sums.

Of the 141 names, 76 are individuals, including Transcom Group Chairman Latifur Rahman and Planning Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal, who are getting the tax cards as senior citizens, according to the notice issued by the Internal Resources Division of the finance ministry.

Mahfuz Anam, editor and publisher of The Daily Star, will be honoured for paying the highest amount of taxes among journalists, followed by MA Malek, editor of the Dainik Azadi of Chittagong and Matiur Rahman, editor and publisher of the Prothom Alo.

In media category, The Daily Star's owning company Mediaworld Ltd, its printer Transcraft Ltd and Prothom Alo's owner Mediastar have been selected for the tax cards.

East West Media Group Ltd is also going to be honoured with the tax card in the media category.

The tax cards will be handed out at a programme on November 24, said Abdur Razzaque, member of tax administration at the National Board of Revenue.


Individuals in 18 categories, companies in 14 categories, and firms and other taxpayers in four categories will be honoured.

In the category of war-wounded freedom fighters, Md Nasir Uddin Mridha has become the top taxpayer, while Akram Mahmud will take home the tax card in the physically challenged person category.

Husne Ara Hussain will be awarded as the largest taxpayer in women's category. Nafiz Sikder topped the list of individual taxpayers under the age 40.

The NBR also made the list of top taxpayers based on their professions or sources of income.

Kauch Mia continues to secure his position as the highest taxpayer in the businessman category, while Khwaja Tajmahal topped the salaried person category with his compliance.

The tax authority found Dr Pran Gopal Datta to be the top taxpayer among the doctors.

Among lawyers, Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh, also a member of parliament, will be honoured for paying the highest amount of tax in the profession.

Md Abdul Wadud is the top taxpayer among engineers and Muhammad Rafiq Azam among the architects.

Among accountants, Ferdous Ahmed Khan will be awarded with the tax card, while Sultan Mahmud will be awarded as a new taxpayer. Among sportspersons, three cricketers Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan and Mashrafe Bin Mortaza are set to get tax cards.

Suborna Mustafa has become the top taxpayer among the actors and Rezwana Choudhury Bannya among the singers.

The NBR said it will honour companies with 57 cards under 14 sectors.

Standard Chartered Bank topped the list of highest taxpaying banks; state-run Infrastructure Development Company was the highest taxpayer in the non-bank financial sector.

Grameenphone, the country's largest cellular carrier, will also be honoured for paying the most tax among the mobile phone operators.

Under the engineering category, PHP Cold Rolling Mills Ltd topped the list. Nestle Bangladesh is the highest taxpayer in the food and allied sector.

State-run Titas Gas paid the highest tax in the energy sector and Janata Jute Mills in the jute industry. In real estate, Bay Developments was the highest taxpayer.  Square Textiles was the highest taxpayer as spinning and textile maker. In the garment sector, Youngone Hi-tech Sportswear Industries will be given the tax card.

Lalmai Footwear was the highest taxpayer in the leather sector.

Unilever Bangladesh topped the list of taxpayers under the pharmaceuticals and chemicals category, while British American Tobacco tops the list of taxpayers under the 'others' category. In the category of firms, Walton Micro-tech Corporation was the top taxpayer.

The tax card holders will enjoy privileges in making reservations for seats on the state-run airline, trains and water transports. They will also be able to use the lounge for commercially important persons at airports.

The taxpayers along with their family members will easily get cabins at government hospitals. Apart from that, tax card holders will get priority in hotel bookings. They will also be invited to various national functions and citizen reception programmes organised by city corporations and municipalities, according to the policy.

The tax card will be valid for one year from the date of issuance.

The NBR said the revised policy and the number of tax cards and categories will remain unchanged for three years.